News News
Hot news for you every day on time update, let you know the lat

2015 Boston Marathon

Date: 2015-04-21
Views: 78

The 2015 Boston Marathon was the 119th running of the Boston Athletic Association's mass-participation marathon. It took place on Monday, April 20 (Patriots Day in Massachusetts).
The event ran along the same winding course the Marathon has followed for many decades—26 miles 385 yards (42.195 km) of roads and city streets, through eight Massachusetts cities and towns, to the finish line beside the Boston Public Library, on Boylston Street in Boston's Copley Square.The Marathon set a field size of about 30,000 entries.The 2014 champion, Meb Keflezighi, was entered in the marathon as well. All 50 US states and all Canadian provinces were represented at the marathon, as well as several U.S territories.

Finish Line


Men winner

2015 Boston Marathon winner Lelisa Desisa after finishing first on Boylston Street: "I took off my hat and started waiving my hands because I love the Boston people.”

Women winner

Caroline Rotich of Kenya defeated Mare Dibaba of Ethiopia in a sprint finish down Boylston Street. “Once I saw the finish, I knew I could let go. I had to give it all of my strength until the finish line.”

Official Women's Results:
1 - Caroline Rotich (KEN) 2:24:55
2 - Mare Dibaba (ETH) 2:24:59
3 - Buzunesh Deba (ETH) 2:25:09
4 - Desiree Linden (USA) 2:25:39
5 - Sharon Cherop (KEN) 2:26:05
6 - Caroline Kilel (KEN) 2:26:40
7- Aberu Kebede (ETH) 2:26:52
8 - Shure Demise (ETH) 2:27:14
9 - Shalane Flanagan (USA) 2:27:47
10 - Joyce Chepkirui (KEN) 2:29:07

Official Men's Elite Results:
1 - Lelisa Desisa (ETH) 2:09:17
2 - Yemane Adhane Tsegay (ETH) 2:09:48
3 - Wilson Chebet (KEN) 2:10:22
4 - Bernard Kipyego (KEN) 2:10:47
5 - Wesley Korir (KEN) 2:10:49
6 - Frankline Chepkwony (KEN) 2:10:52
7 - Dathan Rizenhien (USA) 2:11:20
8 - Meb Keflezighi (USA) 2:12:42
9 - Tadese Tola (ETH) 2:13:35
10 - Vitaliy Shafar (UKR) 2:13:52

Place Athlete Nationality Time
1 Marcel Hug   Switzerland 1:29:53
2 Masazumi Soejima  Japan 1:36:27
3 Ernst Van Dyk  South Africa 1:36:27
4 Kota Hotinoue  Japan 1:36:29
5 Tomasz Hamerlak  Poland 1:38:14

Place Athlete Nationality Time
1 Tatyana McFadden  United States 1:52:54
2 Wakako Tsuchida  Japan 1:53:48
3 Susannah Scaroni  United States 1:57:21
4 Amanda McGrory  United States 1:57:21

The Medals

The Olive Wreath for winner of Boston Marathon was presented by Mr. Dimitri Kyriakides to memorize his father--Stylianos Kyriakides, who won Boston Marathon in 1946.

Stylianos Kyriakides was born in the mountain village of Statos, near Pafos, in Cyprus in 1910.Wearing bib 77, his time was 2h 29m 27s,the best time in the world that year and the European record.

There are two same bronze statues to memorize Stylianos Kyriakides.One is in Marathon Greece, one is on the race of Boston Marathon.

Copyright © 2005 - 2013 上海飞马团体育咨询有限公司
ADD:333 Jin Gang Road, Office 1301, Pudong 201206, Shanghai, P.R.China